About About Senator Amy Sinclair.

Home  »  About

Iowa State Senator Amy Sinclair represents Senate District 14, which is comprised of Wayne, Decatur, Clarke, Lucas, Marion and part of Jasper counties. She was elected in November 2012.

Amy and her husband Boyd, who is the elementary principal at Wayne Community Schools, have three sons – Evan, Mitch and Carter. The Sinclairs farm near Allerton.

Sinclair served two terms on the Wayne County Board of Supervisors.

Amy understands the issues southern Iowans face every day. She has lived, worked and raised her family for more than 17 years in Wayne County for more than 17 years.

Education is a top priority for Sinclair. She is an advocate for strong local control of schools; improved teacher, student and parent accountability; and renewed pre-eminence for Iowa’s educational system.

She serves on the education standing committee, education appropriations sub-committee and commerce committee. Amy is the ranking member of the local government committee.

Sinclair has held numerous leadership positions on boards and committees such as the South Iowa Area Crime Commission, Community Health Centers of Southern Iowa, Chariton Valley Transportation Planning Affiliate and Wayne County Farm Bureau.